Notes of an ALT #2

Enjoy Odaiba

First off, I went to Odaiba in Tokyo this weekend. It was really fun and exciting and I did way too many things to explain, so here are some scenic shots instead.

Ferris Wheel in Palette town in Odaiba, Tokyo.
Ferris Wheel in Palette town in Odaiba, Tokyo.
Night view over Tokyo Bay.
Night view over Tokyo Bay.
Night view from the Ferris Wheel.
Night view from the Ferris Wheel.
Sunset setting over Tokyo Bay.
Sunset setting over Tokyo Bay.

Notes of An ALT…

Notes of an ALT is getting too jam-packed with hilarious things, so here are some cliff notes.

A few of us ALTs went to Ageha (one of the biggest night clubs in Tokyo) over the weekend. Of course, new of our weekend plans spread fast among the teachers on Friday. One teacher asks me why I will go to Ageha… “To find a lover?” he asks.

I teach a homeroom class with another male teacher. It’s basically like having 38 children, where I am the Mom and he is the dad. Sometimes I refer to them as “my little angels” (as my mother once did to me) both sarcastically and genuinely. The other day, my homeroom teacher told me he won’t be in class. Usually he is all business, but we usually engage in small talk about movies or english terms etc. The ALTs had introduce the idea of a “Work husband and work wife” to them, so, he says to me:

“Spoil the kids while strict daddy is away, OK?”

I gave him a blank stare then it finally settled in and couldn’t keep my laughter contained.

Lately, I’ve been *trying* to study Japanese more. I learned a new phrase which essentialy means “How’s it going?” more casually. So, last night, I tried to ask the gym teachers this.

I say it. And all 3 of them stare at me like I’m totally insane.

My god it was awkward. What did I say wrong?? It seems whenever I mispronounce something, it’s some sort of strange or even “bad” word! Ugh! Later discovered, instead of asking how they were, I accidentally asked how a city near by was doing?

That feeling sucked. And it makes me have more empathy for why my students have such a hard time simply spitting out the words. As a pretty thick-skinned, extroverted person, that feeling sucked. But, it didn’t suck enough not to try again, of course. That’s just what I got to remind them. The low is never as bad as when I can actually figure out what people are saying in a different language. That connection.

So, I had some writing to do on my way home from school so I stop at the local restaurant “Peru Meru.” The owners are a couple, who seems to be as equally talented in cooking as they are in drinking. A mom and pop’s shop, you could say. They’re extremely friendly and know me by name, but this was the first time I went without someone who could speak much better Japanese than me. I ended up sitting at the bar. First they give me peanuts, then fresh bread. I order the salad I usually get, then came the Sake —> for free haha. I did some writing there at the bar. It was quite ideal.

We tried to speak in Japanese and English. It was brilliant practice on both sides. We talked about the word “Rendezvous” and taught each other meanings.

Cuz life, is just teaching each other meanings

haha. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Notes of an ALT #2

  1. Your writing and thoughts on speaking the language were so telling about your skills as a beautifully developing teacher! It makes me so proud.
    Claudia’s comment she loves your life lesson at the end of your post, you are very wise for your age!

Leave a Reply

