Holidays feel different overseas

Made magnets today with my students' faces one them. Gonna be awesome for activities.
Made magnets today with my students’ faces one them. Gonna be awesome for activities.
Fun in Tsukiji with Mom in July.
Fun in Tsukiji with Mom in July.
2015-09-08 23.41.28
Tokyo and Skytree!
Thanks for the gifts! I really needed that backpack since I was seriously using my DELL backpack from 2005.
Thanks for the gifts! I really needed that backpack since I was seriously using my DELL backpack from 2005.

Japan has a wicked amount of national holidays which I usually get off work for. Just this month, there is a week with 3 consecutive national holidays, equaling a super vacation without having to use your vacation days.

But, personal milestones, like birthdays or engagements, and being away from family during regular holidays like Christmas or Easter, just don’t feel the same. (No, I’m not engaged, but yes my birthday is coming up.)

However, if you’re lucky enough, there are people who still give a crap enough to do something for you on, say… your birthday.

I am one of these lucky ones.

My mom, basically second mom and aunt and uncle all sent me cards and gifts this year. Wow! What the hell!

(Almost) 29 has been awesome so far. It’s something that I would not automatically expect (as their presence in my life and support means more than anything ever ever ever (no way in hell i would be here without them both physically and mentally) BUT it is admittedly a wonderful surprise.

Thanks to every one who remembers I am still alive even though it seems like I am on a different planet. Actually, “this planet” has become a bit normal, depending on the day.

I assure you, I’m not doing anything nearly as cool as you think I am. In fact, right now, I’m just drinking coffee out of a cat mug, and pretending I know how to effectively speak, let alone, teach English.

Just want to say thanks again (can’t say it enough), to anyone who’s taken the time to write an email, send a message, a card, a package or just a phone call. All of those things meant much to me when I was in the USA, but truly, it’s hard to express the value of them now. But I hope to repay that in all the little ways I know how to.

Last, I hope that we can take more time to write a little note, email or give a call to people, even when they aren’t 14 hours away. Can’t underestimate that power we all possess.

One thought on “Holidays feel different overseas

  1. Go Victoria! You are always in my heart! Happy 29! So glad you are liking your presents. I love that we have joint memories of Japan that we can share. Always, your Mom

Leave a Reply

